your search will point you in the direction of
the path to your perfect place.
Property owners in Oregon are required to
insure their buildings, but that insurance
does not protect tenants in the event that
your property is stolen or damaged. That’s
what renter’s insurance is for.
Renters insurance will also protect you in
the event that the apartment is damaged as a
result of your actions, like a flood occurring
after the faucet was left on.
Landlords have the right to require renter’s
insurance of their tenants, and this regulation
is becoming more and more common. This
requirement must be communicated in the
lease and cannot exceed $100,000 in required
coverage. Before you start looking for apartments, it’s helpful to take inventory of your
valuable belongings and speak to an insurance
agent about what it would cost to cover them.
Renter’s insurance will give you peace of
mind and protection for your home. For
only about $170 per year, it can save you
thousands of dollars in a variety of otherwise unpleasant scenarios.
Regulations, Fire Codes, and Grilling
It’s important to read all of the fine print and
be aware of what you are and are not allowed
to do on your rented Portland property.
Renters in Oregon are responsible for checking
their smoke detectors, at least once every six
months, and changing the batteries as needed.
If the smoke detectors are defective, landlords
are responsible for replacing them.
Portlanders enjoy all sorts of outdoor
activities, but when it comes to using your
outdoor space at your apartment, there
are some rules you must consider. The use
of charcoal and gas grills on combustible
porches or within 10 feet of combustible
construction is not allowed. You should also
avoid cooking too close to your building, or
beneath overhanging eaves and branches.
When entertaining guests outdoors — in
community spaces or on private patios
— renters should refer to their lease for regu-
lations on the number of people allowed and
the activities that might be prohibited.
Property owners are responsible to you, the
renter, for the safety and livability of your
home. Your apartment must be in good
living condition when you move in; your
unit must be free of pests and there must be
proper wiring, plumbing, and heating.
It’s the landlord’s responsibility to maintain
these aspects of your apartment, throughout
your time there. If maintenance work must
be done for upkeep to the plumbing, wiring,
Landlords in Portland may charge a secu-
rity deposit before move-in, to cover any
potential damage during your time living
there. When you move out, the landlord is
required to return your security deposit,
provided nothing was damaged beyond
normal wear and tear, within 31 days.
Even though your landlord owns the property, renters have the right of exclusive
possession, which means that you have the
right to your privacy within your rented
property. Landlords may not enter without
at least 24 hours’ notice.
Month-to-month rental agreements are
not uncommon in Portland. These can be
convenient for renters who are not ready to
make a full-year commitment on a property.
Renters can leave their lease without any
kind of fine if they provide 30 days’ notice,
but renters should also consider that a
month-to-month agreement gives landlords
the option to terminate a lease with a 30-day
notice as well.
It’s the tenant’s responsibility to know their
rights before they sign a lease. Be sure to
read your lease thoroughly before entertaining into a legal relationship with your
landlord or management company.
You’ll find the search for your first
Portland apartment to be an exciting
adventure into what makes our
neighborhoods and our city so special.
Photo courtesy Park Avenue West Apartments